HPA welcomes first women chairperson

A head and shoulders image of the Health Products Association’s new chairperson, Maria AscencaoThe Health Products Association (HPA) is proud to announce the election of Maria Ascencao as its new chairperson. An executive member of the HPA since 1996, Ascencao is the first woman at helm since the Association’s inception in 1976.

‘I extend sincerest thanks and appreciation to my fellow members of the executive council of the Health Products Association, who have elected me chairperson. I’m humbled and honoured that they have entrusted me with this responsibility,’ says Ascencao.

Leading contributor to health and wellness

Ascencao has dedicated over 30 years to the field of natural health and wellness, and has been acknowledged as a pioneer of utmost integrity. Her work has been recognised by her global business partners, leading South African retailers and the media. The South African Journal of Natural Medicine voted her one of the top 10 contributors to the South African health industry.

‘I’m excited to begin work on behalf of the HPA and its members to promote positive communications and public relations, training and education to the highest standards of products and services, and to find a new approach to effectively communicate the benefits and strengths of the industry within the wellness paradigm,’ she states.

Continuing the strategic focus

CAMs and health supplement companies are a crucial part of South Africa’s economy. Ascencao says the industry provides jobs and opportunities, and gives consumers the freedom to make educated choices to achieve better health.

‘We will continue the good work of effectively representing the interests of the SA Natural Health and CAMS industry at all levels of the legislative, regulatory and Parliamentary processes, while working proactively with other industry associations to achieve this,’ she concludes.

The HPA 2017/18 executive council

  • Chairperson: Maria Ascnecao (Coyne Healthcare)
  • Honorary president: Bruce Dennison (Ex-Officio) (Natural Products Strategic Advice)
  • Executive secretary: Deirdre Allen
  • Treasurer: Norman Fels  (Sports Health & Fitness)
  • Regulatory and technical director: Wayne Robinson (Azochem)
  • Legal consultant: Howard Snoyman
  • Technical and regulatory consultant: Janet Welham (Saige Marketing)
  • Regulatory consultant: Celecia Pleass

Committee Members

  • Michelle Body (Adcock Ingram)
  • Allen Frank  (Amway)
  • Pravashini Govender (Herbalife Nutrition)
  • Samantha Jordaan (Ascendis Health)
  • Rudi Martins (Vital Health Foods)
  • Steve Parker (Good Health Products)
  • Rachel Wrigglesworth/Erika Zaier (Clicks)

Visit the official COVID-19 government website to stay informed: sacoronavirus.co.za