SCS elects new council

The Society of Cosmetic Scientists (SCS) elected a new Council for 2019-2020 at its Annual General Meeting on 23 May 2019 at the Smock Alley Theatre in Dublin, the first time the AGM has been held in Ireland. Mary Lord was elected president, with Grace Abamba becoming immediate past president and Stewart Long the new vice president.

The new SCS council for 2019-2020

SCS Officers 2019-2020

  • President Mary Lord
  • Vice president Stewart Long (Cutest)
  • Immediate past president Grace Abamba (BRC Global Standards)
  • Honorary secretary Barry Winslett
  • Honorary treasurer Mustafa Varçin (Hammer Holdings)

SCS Council 2019-2020 & committee responsibilities

  • Astrid Bodard (Azelis) New to Council Chair, International Journal of Cosmetic Science
  • Barbara Brockway (Applied DNA Sciences) chair, RDG Wales & West
  • Heidi Bannister (Arthur Edward) social secretary
  • Amanda Isom (CTPA) honorary education secretary (new role to lead Education Committee for another two years)
  • Denise McLaverty (consultant) chair, Scrub Up On Science
  • Lorna Radford (Enkos Developments)
  • Andrea Tomlinson (BASF) Chair, Scientific Programme
  • Carol Treasure (XCellR8) new to council chair, publicity & recruitment

Mary Lord President

Talking about her year ahead as president, Mary Lord says:

‘I’m really excited about the role. I do have time on my hands and I’m passionate about what I can bring.’

She will focus on three things: strategy, brand and values. Her strength is around strategy and there is currently a review of SCS Strategy. ‘What has brought the Society to where we are now may not be what we need for the future. We need to make the Society relevant to our young chemists and the youth and we need to be active in that area. The Society does have a very strong brand, but it needs to be expressed in everything we do, particularly leading up to the IFSCC 2022 Congress in London. The Society is a not-for-profit organisation and there is a heavy reliance on the membership so it is important that there is new blood coming in.’

Other news from the AGM

Grace Abamba was made a fellow member of the SCS, becoming only the third so far. Tony Rawlings and Steve Barton are already fellows.

Barry Winslett and former CTPA director general Chris Flower were made honorary members

Anyone interested in becoming more involved with the Society should contact SCS secretary general Gem Bektas [email protected]

Visit the official COVID-19 government website to stay informed: